Copyright 2017 Breeding Racing Wednesday, 22nd November 2017 News / Breeding Racing (www.breedingracing.com) Australian Breeding & Racing Magazine is the definitive guide to the thoroughbred breeding & racing industry across Australia, New Zealand & South-east Asia - a MUST for all equine enthusiasts, potential investors & breeding aficionados. http://www.breedingracing.com en-us gknowles@breedingracing.com gknowles@breedingracing.com NZB Ready To Run Sale Commences Today http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/nzb-ready-to-run-sale-commences-today/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/nzb-ready-to-run-sale-commences-today/ NZ Bloodstock’s Ready to Run Sale of Two-Year-Olds commences today at Karaka. With 437 well-trained two-year-olds catalogued, the Sale promises to be an action-packed two days with selling starting at 11am ... Wed, 22 Nov 2017 12:00:00 + 1000 Gr1 Railway Stakes Field & Barriers http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/gr1-railway-stakes-field-and-barriers/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/gr1-railway-stakes-field-and-barriers/ The final field has been declared and the barrier draw conducted for the 131st running of the $1 million Gr1 Railway Stakes (1600m) at Ascot racecourse in Perth this Saturday. Defending ... Wed, 22 Nov 2017 12:00:00 + 1000 Variation Gains Railway Start http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/variation-gains-railway-start/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/variation-gains-railway-start/ Talented 4YO Variation has been elevated into Saturday's Gr1 Railway Stakes field at the expense of Tradesman, reports the West Australian. Chief handicapper Ian Malpass used his discretionary powers to ensure ... Wed, 22 Nov 2017 12:00:00 + 1000 RV to Investigate Williams Comments http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/rv-to-investigate-williams-comments/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/rv-to-investigate-williams-comments/ Victorian racing authorities will conduct an investigation into the operational structure at Macedon Lodge following comments by owner Lloyd Williams that indicated he is the head trainer, reports AAP. Williams, who ... Wed, 22 Nov 2017 12:00:00 + 1000 Winx Decision Soon: Tighe http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/winx-decision-soon-tighe/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/winx-decision-soon-tighe/ Winx's part-owner Peter Tighe says a decision regarding the champion mare's immediate future will be made "sooner rather than later", reports racenet. Following her historic Cox Plate victory, in which she ... Wed, 22 Nov 2017 12:00:00 + 1000 Boom Time Acclimatising Well in Japan http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/boom-time-acclimatising-well-in-japan/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/boom-time-acclimatising-well-in-japan/ Australian stayer Boom Time has settled in well to his new environment since arriving in Japan last week for Sunday's 37th Gr1 Japan Cup (2400m) at Tokyo racecourse. The Caulfield Cup ... Wed, 22 Nov 2017 12:00:00 + 1000 Gr1 Plans Confirmed for Villermont http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/gr1-plans-confirmed-for-villermont/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/gr1-plans-confirmed-for-villermont/ Trainer Aaron Purcell says that boom colt Villermont is likely to launch his autumn campaign in the Gr2 Autumn Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield on 10 February, reports racing.com. The blue blooded ... Wed, 22 Nov 2017 12:00:00 + 1000 Rich Hill Farewell Pentire http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/rich-hill-farewell-pentire/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/rich-hill-farewell-pentire/ The New Zealand breeding industry has lost one of its most versatile stallions with Rich Hill Stud reporting the death on Monday of Pentire. He was 25. A dual Gr1 winner ... Wed, 22 Nov 2017 12:00:00 + 1000 Top Sprinter Retired http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/top-sprinter-retired/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/top-sprinter-retired/ Racing.com reports that Gr1-winning sprinter The Quarterback has been retired. Trained by Robbie Griffiths, The Quarterback (Street Boss-Soorena, by Encosta de Lago) won 9 of his 34 starts for $1,518,250 in ... Wed, 22 Nov 2017 12:00:00 + 1000 Guineas Winner to Target Million Race http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/guineas-winner-to-target-million-race/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/guineas-winner-to-target-million-race/ Trainer Stephen McKee says last weekend's New Zealand 1,000 Guineas heroine Hasahalo will be aimed at the Karaka Million 3YO Classic (1600m) at Ellerslie in January, reports NZ Racing Desk. "I ... Wed, 22 Nov 2017 12:00:00 + 1000 Gr1 Targets for Son of Maher http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/gr1-targets-for-son-of-maher/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/gr1-targets-for-son-of-maher/ Riccarton trainers Michael and Matthew Pitman will aim Son Of Maher at Group 1 features over the upcoming New Zealand summer carnival, reports NZ Racing Desk. The New Zealand Cup carnival ... Wed, 22 Nov 2017 12:00:00 + 1000 Retirement Beckons Winter http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/retirement-beckons-winter/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/retirement-beckons-winter/ Dual classic winner Winter (Galileo-Laddies Poker Two, by Choisir) is set to be retired and join Coolmore’s exceptional band of broodmares. A 4-time Gr1 winner of the English & Irish 1000 ... Wed, 22 Nov 2017 12:00:00 + 1000 Songbird Has Date With Arrogate http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/songbird-has-date-with-arrogate/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2017/11/22/songbird-has-date-with-arrogate/ Champions Songbird and Arrogate will be mated together in their first seasons at stud, reports Blood Horse. Mandy Pope's Whisper Hill Farm purchased the exceptional Songbird (Medaglia d'Oro-Ivanavinalot, by West Acre) ... Wed, 22 Nov 2017 12:00:00 + 1000