Daily News Archive

Search nearly 75,000 unique Daily News articles.

Daily News Subscription

NSW Horse Flu Impact Split Into 4 Colour Zones

Thursday, 20th September 2007

NSW Primary Industries Minister Ian Macdonald announced that "based on information gathered by epidemiologists, surveillance teams & field veterinarians, the state will be broken into 4 colour zones representing the known level of disease infection & risk of spread". Macdonald added: "Zoning is a logical & internationally recognised method of containing & eradicating disease. The new zones will be effective from Friday & regulations will be supported by the NSW Police Force." The zones are:

  • Green (Protected Area): no disease, aim to keep free. Currently includes the Far West, Riverina & Eden-Monaro areas. Travelling Horse Statement required & a permit for events.
  • Amber (Control Area): no confirmed disease, suspect horses to be investigated as quickly as possible. Based around large parts of the Central West & North Coast areas. Movements may be authorised for racing & breeding. Movements to other events prohibited.
  • Red (Restricted Area): area of at least 10km around infected premises, high containment & biosecurity to be applied to individual premises & area. Currently includes a band stretching from Sydney, Newcastle & Central Coast areas roughly following the New England Highway up to the Queensland border. Limited permits within the red zone, current movement restrictions stand.
  • Purple (Special Restricted Area): largely infected, high containment & biosecurity applied to movements out of area. Includes 2 purple zones in the Upper Hunter & North West Sydney. Can move in with a permit, but cannot leave until authorised.
« Previous
Return to
20th September 2007 News
Next »