Daily News Archive

Search nearly 75,000 unique Daily News articles.

Daily News Subscription

$21m Sovereign Series Launched In Britain

Thursday, 3rd July 2008

In the UK overnight, a new competition linking 10 British Gr1 races & named the Sovereign Series was launched. It will start in 2010 & award points for each of the races, for which prize-money will be doubled to £10 million (A$21m). The winning horse will earn connections a £2 million (A$4.2m) bonus. Racing UK executive chairman Simon Bazalgette commented: "Horseracing is one of Britain's great sports but is faced with increasing competition from other sports & leisure activities, so racing needs to evolve & appeal to a wider audience. We believe the Sovereign Series will capture the imagination of a new generation of sports fans, who have never before been interested in racing. By linking Britain's best Flat races into a season-long competition & transforming the viewer experience both on & off the course, the Sovereign Series will strengthen consumer interest in the sport & create a new proposition for broadcasters & sponsors. Our vision is that in 5 years the Sovereign Series will have become established as a major sports competition on the British calendar alongside Wimbledon, The Open (golf) & other similar events." The Sovereign Series races are:

  1. English 2000 Guineas
  2. Juddmonte Lockinge Stakes
  3. English Derby
  4. Prince Of Wales's Stakes
  5. Coral-Eclipse Stakes
  6. King George VI And Queen Elizabeth Stakes
  7. Sussex Stakes
  8. Juddmonte International
  9. Queen Elizabeth II Stakes
  10. Champion Stakes
« Previous
Return to
3rd July 2008 News
Next »