Daily News Archive
Daily News Subscription
Rosehill Whip Furore 4: Rodd Pleads "No Time To Count"
Jockey Michael Rodd admitted he had broken the rule (& that he had previously done so on 5 other occasions) but told The Australian: "I can't see how any steward in the world can find that excessive with the whip. I did go 2 over (the 5 forehand strokes permitted before the 100m mark), one of them a forehand action down the shoulder. All we want is some consistency with the ruling, whether I'm riding in NSW, Victoria, South Australia, Western Australia or Queensland." Arguing for stewards to use their discretion, he noted: "Everything is happening very quickly & you don't get to think that much. You've just got to let it happen & let the senses take over. When you're fighting out a finish & you've got a crowd roaring, you're on an odds-on favourite, you've got so many other things going on. You are looking after the safety of other riders & then you've got to remember how many times you've hit the horse in a forehand manner. I'd written on every page of my form guide the word, backhand, to remind myself because they are enforcing it to the letter."