Daily News Archive

Search nearly 75,000 unique Daily News articles.

Daily News Subscription

NZ Clubs Change NZTR Constitution

Thursday, 16th December 2010

Meanwhile NZ racing clubs agreed to major amendments to the constitution of NZ Thoroughbred Racing at its annual general meeting in Wellington. The current Board of 10 directors (elected on a regional or sector basis) will be replaced on 1 May 2011 by 6 appointed, independent directors. NZTR chairman Guy Sargent commented: "The key determinants in arriving at these radical changes were to ensure a strong & effective Board for the industry, made up of appropriately skilled independent directors. Future directors will be selected by a 12-person council, called the Members' Council, comprising 'shareholders' (racing clubs) & sector organisations (industry associations for owners, breeders, trainers & jockeys). This will free directors from representation issues & enable them to concentrate on the industry's direction & performance."

« Previous
Return to
16th December 2010 News
Next »