Daily News Archive

Search nearly 75,000 unique Daily News articles.

Daily News Subscription

Minister Names Racing NSW Selection Panel

Friday, 28th October 2011

NSW Minister For Racing George Souris announced former magistrate David Armati, former NSW Minister Paul Whelan & former NSW Premier & Federal Minister John Fahey are the “members of the independent selection panel which will make recommendations to the Minister on who should be appointed as members of Racing NSW”. Souris commented: “The principal responsibility of the selection panel is to make ╩recommendations for the 7 people I should appoint to the Board of Racing NSW - with 2 reserve recommendations - and also who should hold the offices of Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson, with 1 reserve recommendation.” (The reserve recommendations provide the Minister with further names “in the event the nominee does not take up the appointment”.) Souris also noted: “The panel will also make recommendations for the terms of office & in doing so, will consider if staggered terms are appropriate for operational & succession reasons.” Souris said the number of Board members for Racing NSW would increase from 5 to 7 “in order to expand the skills base of the body governing thoroughbred racing in NSW”. Souris also noted the “terms of 2 of the current members of Racing NSW expire on December 17 & has asked for the panel’s recommendations by that date”.

« Previous
Return to
28th October 2011 News
Next »