Daily News Archive

Search nearly 75,000 unique Daily News articles.

Daily News Subscription

Finalists Announced For Victorian Racehorse Of The Year Award

Thursday, 7th August 2014

Racing Victoria (RV) yesterday revealed the four finalists for the 2014 TVN Victorian Racehorse of the Year Award to be presented at the Scobie Breasley Medal on the evening of Sunday 17 August at Crown. The award, which takes into account performances on Victorian tracks only during the 2013-14 season, will honour a new star with the retired Black Caviar having claimed the past three titles. The award is voted on by a 50-strong group incorporating members of the racing media, Victoria's five race-callers, the RV handicapping panel and RV's Chairman of Stewards. The four finalists, three of which are now retired to the breeding barn, are:

  • Atlantic Jewel: 4 starts, 3 wins (2 x Group 1), 1 second;
  • Fiorente: 7 starts, 4 wins (2 x G1), 1 third;
  • Lankan Rupee: 7 starts, 6 wins (2 x G1), 1 third; and
  • Shamus Award: 8 starts, 2 wins (2 x G1), 2 seconds, 2 thirds

The Victorian Racehorse of the Year Award is one of a number of coveted awards to be presented on the night, along with the Scobie Breasley Medal, Fred Hoysted Medal, Tommy Corrigan Medal and the Wilson Medic One Victorian Premiership Awards.

« Previous
Return to
7th August 2014 News
Next »