Daily News Archive

Search nearly 75,000 unique Daily News articles.

Daily News Subscription

Full Compliment Of NZ Award Winners

Friday, 15th August 2014

On an evening last night where Waikato Stud's remarkable sire O'Reilly swept all three of the stallion awards – the Grosvenor, Dewar and Centaine Awards – for the second year running, the New Zealand thoroughbred industry paid homage at Hamilton last night to an array of thoroughbred stars, both equine and human. The winners included:

  • Horse Of The Year: Dundeel
  • Champion Stayer (2101m+): Silent Achiever
  • Champion Middle Distance Horse: Dundeel
  • Champion Sprinter  (-1500m): Bounding
  • Champion 3YO: Puccini
  • Champion 2YO: Vespa
  • NZB Filly Of The Year: Costa Viva   
  • Outstanding Contribution To Racing: David Walsh   
  • Jockey Of The Year: Matthew Cameron
  • Apprentice Jockey Of The Year: Rory Hutchings   
  • Trainer Of The Year: Lisa Latta
  • Owner Of The Year: Kevin Hickman
  • Media Award: Peter Earley   
  • Breeder Of The Year: Kevin Hickman
  • Broodmare Of The Year: Stareel
  • Grosvenor Award (Earnings In NZ): O'Reilly
  • Dewar Award (Earnings In Australasia): O'Reilly
  • Centaine Award (Earnings Worldwide): O'Reilly
  • Owner Premiership Winner: Sir Peter Vela  
« Previous
Return to
15th August 2014 News
Next »