Daily News Archive

Search nearly 75,000 unique Daily News articles.

Daily News Subscription

NZ Awards Function Rewards Highest Achievers

Friday, 14th August 2015

The full list of awards winners from last night's annual New Zealand Thoroughbred Horse of the Year function held at Hamilton is below:

  • Grosvenor Award (NZ earnings): Savabeel (Zabeel x Savannah Success)
  • Dewar Award (Australasian earnings): Savabeel (Zabeel x Savannah Success)
  • Centaine Award (Worldwide earnings): O'Reilly (Last Tycoon x Courtza)
  • Broodmare of the Year Parfore: (Gold Brose x Classy Twiggy) dam of Terravista and Tiger Tees
  • Breeder of the Year: IDL Breeding Ltd. breeder of Volkstok'n'barrell and Sauvito
  • NZB Filly of the Year: Platinum Witness (California Dane x Chartreuse)
  • Media Award: Brendan Popplewell, Trackside
  • McBeath Apprentice Jockey of the Year: Rory Hutchings
  • Jumps Jockey of the Year: Michael Mitchell
  • Jockey of the Year: Matthew Cameron
  • Jockeys' Premiership: Matthew Cameron
  • Dunstan Trainer of the Year: Murray Baker and Andrew Forsman
  • Trainers' Premiership: Murray Baker and Andrew Forsman
  • Owner of the Year Inner: Mongolia Rider Horse Industry (NZ) Ltd
  • Owners' Premiership: Sir Peter Vela
  • Champion Jumper: Amanood Lad
  • Champion Two-Year-Old: Marky Mark
  • Champion Three-Year-Old: Mongolian Khan
  • Champion Sprinter (-1500m): Sacred Star
  • Champion Middle Distance Horse (1501-2100m): Soriano
  • Champion Stayer (2101m +): Mongolian Khan
  • NZTR Award for Outstanding Global Achievement: James McDonald
  • NZTR Award for Outstanding Contribution To NZ Racing: Joe, Martin, Ray and Tony Dennis
  • 2015 Horse of the Year: Mongolian Khan
« Previous
Return to
14th August 2015 News
Next »