Daily News Archive

Search nearly 75,000 unique Daily News articles.

Daily News Subscription

Lindop Claims SA Jockey Of The Year Award

Tuesday, 1st September 2015

Jockey Clare Lindop has celebrated a magnificent 2014/15 season by taking home three of the most coveted awards at Thoroughbred Racing SA's Industry Awards night on Saturday. Clare won the prestigious John Letts Medal, was named the South Australian Jockey of the Year and also received the Glennon-Johnson Award for the 2014/15 South Australian Metropolitan Jockey of the Year in a ceremony held at the Stamford Grand, Glenelg. It caps off an impressive year for one of Australia's champion jockeys, with her metropolitan figures reading 55 wins, 32.5 second placings and 28 thirds from 303 starts. The Caitlin Forrest South Australian Provincial and Country Apprentice of the Year award was won by Irishborn up-and-coming jockey Emily Finnegan and presented by Caitlin's mother, Yvonne Forrest, in a moving tribute to her late daughter. Other highlights included:

  • South Australian Champion Racehorse of the Year - Hucklebuck
  • Jake Toeroek took home two awards – the SA Metropolitan Apprentice of the Year and the Leon Macdonald Award for South Australian Apprentice of the Year. Matthew Neilson won the equivalent accolade for country racing, while Steven Pateman was again recognised as the Jumps Jockey of the Year.
  • Phillip Stokes - South Australian Metropolitan Trainer of the Year and the CS Hayes Award for 2014/15 South Australian Trainer of the Year.
  • David Jolly - South Australian Provincial and Country Trainer of the Year.
  • Champion race horse Storm Queen and legendary trainer Ab Macdonald inducted into the SA Racing Hall of Fame.
« Previous
Return to
1st September 2015 News
Next »