Daily News Archive

Search nearly 75,000 unique Daily News articles.

Daily News Subscription

NZ Horse Of The Year Finalists Announced

Wednesday, 29th June 2016

The strength of the current New Zealand three-year-old crop is highlighted with the first release of finalists for the 2015-16 Horse of the Year awards. New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing (NZTR) yesterday announced the finalists for five of the six horses-in training categories. The finalists for Jumper of the Year will be confirmed in July. The winners will be announced at the Awards Dinner, at the Langham Hotel in Auckland, on Sunday, August 7. Eight finalists, all of them Group I winners, were selected for the three-year-old category, reflecting the impact the New Zealand three-year-olds made in classic races on both sides of the Tasman.

Champion 2YO: Heroic Valour, Luna Rossa, Sacred Elixir, Xiong Feng

Champion 3YO: Fanatic, Provocative, Rangipo, Risque, Sofia Rosa, Tavago, Valley Girl, Xtravagant

Champion sprinter (up to 1500m): Ryan Mark, Turn Me Loose, Xtravagant

Champion middle distance horse (1501m-2100m): Addictive Habit, Julinsky Prince, Kawi, Turn Me Loose, Volkstok'n'barrell

Champion stayer (2101m and further): Benzini, Jimmy Mac, Mongolian Khan

All finalists in the six categories are eligible for the Horse of the Year award.

The finalists for the Owner of the Year have also been confirmed and are: Adrian Bull, Bromley Bloodstock, Denise Howell, JML Bloodstock, Lincoln Farms, NZ Thoroughbred Holdings, The Oaks Stud, Raffles Dancers (NZ), Kelvin Tyler, Sir Peter Vela.

« Previous
Return to
29th June 2016 News
Next »