Daily News Archive

Search nearly 75,000 unique Daily News articles.

Daily News Subscription

Australia & New Zealand Weekend Stakes Schedule

Friday, 4th August 2017

Feature sprint races in Sydney and Melbourne – namely the Gr2 Missile Stakes & Gr3 Bletchingly Stakes respectively – will usher in the 2017/2018 racing season, which sees just three stakes races scheduled across Australia and New Zealand this weekend. First run in 1978, the Missile Stakes has been won by horses such as Razor Sharp (1982), Campaign King (1987 & 88), Klokka (1993 & 94), Guineas (1997), Commands (1999), Lonhro (2002), and Dance Hero (2005). This year, the dominant $2.20 favourite for the race is three-time Gr1 winner Le Romain. The Bletchingly Stakes also boasts an impressive honour roll, with future Group One winners such as inaugural winner Poetic King (1994), Remember You (1995 & 96), Rubitano (2002), Apache cat (2007), Shoot Out (2010), Mid Summer Music (2011), and Smokin Joey (2015). With Supido withdrawn from the race, favouritism is likely to be fought out between Lankan Rupee and Ability. Brought to you by International Animal Health Products, below in AET order are Saturday's & Sunday's scheduled stakes races incorporating integrated fields, form and runner news:


  • 1:30pm: Gr3 Winter Cup (1600m) Riccarton
  • 3:30pm: Gr2 Missile Stakes (1200m) Royal Randwick


  • 3:30pm: Gr3 Bletchingly Stakes (1200m) Sandown


« Previous
Return to
4th August 2017 News
Next »